What native land is Edmonton?

Edmonton is located within Treaty 6 Territory and within the Métis homelands and Métis Nation of Alberta Region 4. We acknowledge this land as the traditional territories of many First Nations such as the Nehiyaw (Cree), Denesuliné (Dene), Nakota Sioux (Stoney), Anishinabae (Saulteaux) and Niitsitapi (Blackfoot).

What treaty land is Edmonton in?

Commemorate the historic ties between the Confederacy of Treaty Six First Nations and the City of Edmonton. Recognize Edmonton sits within Treaty No. 6 territory.

What land is Edmonton on?

Everyone’s Canada acknowledges that its main office is in Edmonton, which is located on Treaty 6 territory, the traditional lands of First Nations and Métis people.

What First Nations live in Edmonton?

Edmonton lies in Treaty 6 territory, a traditional gathering place, travelling route and home for many Indigenous Peoples including the Nehiyawak/Cree, Tsuut’ina, Niitsitapi/Blackfoot, Métis, Nakota Sioux, Haudenosaunee/Iroquois, Dene Suliné, Anishinaabe/Ojibway/Saulteaux, and the Inuk/Inuit.

What indigenous land is Alberta on?

We acknowledge Treaty 6 territory—the traditional and ancestral territory of the Cree, Dene, Blackfoot, Saulteaux and Nakota Sioux. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Settlements and the Métis Nation of Alberta, Regions 2, 3 and 4 within the historical Northwest Métis Homeland.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Is finding job in Canada difficult?

How do you say Edmonton in Cree?

amiskwacîwâskahikan (ᐊᒥᐢᑿᒌᐚᐢᑲᐦᐃᑲᐣ), meaning “beaver hills house,” is the nehiyawewin itwewin (Cree word) for Edmonton.

How many First Nations are in Edmonton?

According to the 2011 Census, the First Nations population in Edmonton (the provincial capital) totalled at 31,780, which is the second highest for any city in Canada (after Winnipeg). The First Nations population in Calgary, in reference to the 2011 Census, totalled at 17,040.

What native land is Calgary on?

We are located in the traditional territories of the Niitsitapi (Blackfoot Confederacy) and the people of the Treaty 7 region in Southern Alberta. The City of Calgary is also home to Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3.

What is the origin of the name Edmonton?

The name Edmonton was first given to Fort Edmonton, a Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) fur trading post on the North Saskatchewan River, in 1795. It was named after Edmonton, England, the birthplace of Sir James Winter Lake, who was at the meeting of the governors of the HBC when the fort was established.

What indigenous land is Saskatoon on?

Saskatoon is located on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis.

What percentage of Edmonton is Aboriginal?

Percentage of the general population who identify as Aboriginal. In 2016, 5.39% of the general population of Edmonton identified as aboriginal. The aboriginal population percentage of Edmonton increased 2.18% in the last five years.

What is the indigenous population of Edmonton?

Edmonton and surrounding area has the second largest urban Indigenous population in Canada – 52,100, or 5% of the population.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Is 6 a good score in IELTS for Canada?

How many native reserves are there in Alberta?

Map of reserves and settlements

The 138 First Nations Reserves and 8 Metis Settlements located in Alberta are important to the province’s economic and cultural fabric. First Nations reserves are located in 3 treaty areas or regions across Alberta.

What native land is Airdrie on?

Confederacy, including the Siksika, Piikani, and Kainnai, the Tsuut’ina Nation and Stoney-Nakoda Nations, including the Westley, Chiniki, and Bearspaw, and the People of Metis Region 3.

What indigenous land is Lethbridge on?

The City of Lethbridge is also home to the Metis Nation of Alberta, Region III. I would like to acknowledge that we are on Blackfoot land and would like to give recognition to the Blackfoot people past, present and future.

What native land is Red Deer on?

Red Deer College recognizes that our campus is situated on Treaty 7 land, the traditional territory of the Blackfoot, Tsuu T’ina and Stoney Nakoda peoples, and that the central Alberta region we serve falls under Treaty 6, traditional Métis, Cree and Saulteaux territory.