Who was in Canada’s government in 2007?

What was happening in 2007 in Canada?

January 5 – The domed roof of BC Place Stadium in Vancouver collapses. January 11 – A major blizzard rips through Central Saskatchewan. February 3 – At a Calgary Flames game, young Cree singer Akina Shirt becomes the first person to perform “O Canada” in an Aboriginal language at a major league sporting event.

Who was the Government of Canada in 2008?

October 14, 2008

Leader Stephen Harper Gilles Duceppe
Party Conservative Bloc Québécois
Leader since March 20, 2004 March 15, 1997
Leader’s seat Calgary Southwest Laurier—Sainte-Marie
Last election 124 seats, 36.27% 51 seats, 10.48%

Who was the Canadian government in 2006?

The Conservative Party of Canada, led by Stephen Harper, won a minority government. The Conservatives won 124 seats. The former governing party, the Liberal Party of Canada, won 103 seats.

Who governed Canada in 2005?

38th Canadian Parliament

38th Parliament of Canada
Government House Leader Hon. Tony Valeri October 4, 2004 – November 29, 2005
Opposition House Leader Hon. John Douglas Reynolds October 4, 2004 – January 27, 2005
Jay D. Hill January 30, 2005 – November 29, 2005
Members 308 seats MP seats List of members
IT IS IMPORTANT:  Are Ontario public schools good?

Who was popular in 2007?

Billboard Year-End Hot 100 singles of 2007

Title Artist(s)
1 “Irreplaceable” Beyoncé
2 “Umbrella” Rihanna featuring Jay-Z
3 “The Sweet Escape” Gwen Stefani featuring Akon
4 “Big Girls Don’t Cry” Fergie

What came out in 2007?

The Big Movies: (according to boxofficemojo)

  • Spider-Man 3.
  • Shrek the Third.
  • Transformers.
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End.
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix.
  • I Am Legend.
  • The Bourne Ultimatum.
  • National Treasure: Book of Secrets.

What did Stephen Harper do in 2006?

Harper was invited to form the 28th Canadian Ministry and become Prime Minister of Canada following the 2006 election, where Harper’s Conservative Party won a plurality of seats in the House of Commons of Canada, defeating the Liberal Prime Minister Paul Martin’s government.

When was Pierre Trudeau Prime Minister?

Pierre Trudeau

The Right Honourable Pierre Trudeau PC CC CH QC FRSC
Trudeau at a reception by Juliana, Queen of the Netherlands, in February 1975
15th Prime Minister of Canada
In office March 3, 1980 – June 30, 1984
Monarch Elizabeth II

Who was in power in Canada 1997?

The 1997 Canadian federal election was held on June 2, 1997, to elect members to the House of Commons of Canada of the 36th Parliament of Canada. Prime Minister Jean Chrétien’s Liberal Party won a second majority government.

Who won the 2008 Canadian election?

The 40th Canadian federal election was held on October 14, 2008. The Conservative Party of Canada, led by Stephen Harper, won a minority government. The Conservatives won 143 seats. The Liberal Party of Canada, won 77 seats.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  What region does most of Canada live in?

Who won the 2006 election?

The next year, Bush won reelection over Democratic nominee Senator John Kerry with less than 51% of the popular vote and 286 electoral votes (only 16 votes ahead of the 270 votes needed), the smallest winning margin for an incumbent president since Woodrow Wilson in the 1916 election.

Why was there a Canadian election in 2006?

Cause of the election

This unusual winter general election was caused by a motion of no confidence passed by the House of Commons on November 28, 2005, with Canada’s three opposition parties contending that the Liberal government of Prime Minister Paul Martin was corrupt.

Who was prime minister in 2007 Canada?

Stephen Joseph Harper PC CC (born April 30, 1959) is a Canadian politician who served as the 22nd prime minister of Canada from 2006 to 2015.

Who governed Canada in 1880?

4th Canadian Parliament

4th Parliament of Canada
The Hon. Sir David Lewis Macpherson 19 April 1880 – 16 October 1883
Government Senate Leader Alexander Campbell 18 October 1878 – 26 January 1887
Opposition Senate Leader Sir Richard William Scott 8 October 1878 – 27 April 1896
Senators 79 seats senator seats List of senators